Weekend Recap: Shoes, A Baptism & Bad Traffic

What a fun weekend it was; I hope you had a fun one too! Here’s a few highlights:

1) I was able to meet up with 2 of my bridesmaids so now all of my girls OFFICIALLY have their beautiful gowns (EEKK!!) AND I found shoes for my good friend Megan’s wedding (don’t you just love the Rack Room buy one, get one 50% deal?!)

2) One of my dear friends (and bridesmaids) was BAPTIZED on Sunday!! I ADORE her and am BEYOND excited to see her growth in Christ the last year. She’s on fire right now & I love the seeing the power of Christ in her!

3) And last but not least, Matt and I saw Rascal Flatts on Saturday night!!

For Christmas he bought me tickets to the Rascal Flatts Concert in Charlottesville; I remember opening them and feeling like it would take FOREVER for February to arrive… but in the blink of an eye February 16th arrived. He took me to C’ville early so we could walk around the beautiful downtown district (it was COLD but fun); then we went out to dinner… and sat in traffic for 50 minutes to go all of 1.8 miles!! I was SO annoyed y’all. Now, anyone that knows me knows that patience is NOT easy for me. I’m actually quite horrible at it. I’m sitting in the car watching the clock get closer to 7:30pm and I was furious with EVERY SINGLE CAR in front of us; I was just imagining The Band Perry playing and getting so ANGRY that I was missing their act … then Matt hears “Better Dig Two” (their latest hit) on the radio, turns it up loud and pretends we’re at the concert! Man I love him 🙂 He’s clapping and looking like a total lunatic and you know what? I loved every minute of it! He ALWAYS knows when to make me smile … even when 10 seconds before I was snapping at him as if HE could make the cars in front of us move! What a sweet man. Yeah the traffic was a bummer but did we miss the concert? No! God reminded me yet again that just because things aren’t going according to MY plan, that doesn’t mean they won’t work out in the end. I need to just let go, relax and ENJOY this beautiful, crazy life… even if every aspect isn’t perfectly planned out. Matt is so good at that; he’s so playful, carefree & fun; I realized this weekend how much I want to be so much more like that. Now, because of that silly traffic, I have a memory I will never, EVER forgot … my hubby-to-be clapping, singing and looking like an idiot just to make me smile 🙂

always, kat

(PS. And yes, we DID make it in time to see The Band Perry & Rascal Flatts – and we were given upgraded seats to boot!!)

Leave a Reply

